Untitled Design 7
Team USA

Women's Team Pursuit Wins Fourth World Championships in Five Years

By: Tom Mahoney  February 27, 2020

The Women’s Team Pursuit wins the coveted Rainbow Jersey in Berlin. Adrian Hegyvary has his best finish at a World Championship, finishing sixth in the Men’s Scratch Race.

BERLIN – The second day of the 2020 UCI Track Cycling Worlds Championships saw Team USA win their fourth world championship title in the Women’s Team Pursuit in the last five years. The team of Jennifer Valente (San Diego; Sho-Air TWENTY20), Chloe Dygert (Brownsburg, Ind.; Sho-Air TWENTY20), Lily Williams (Asheville, N.C.; Rally UHC Pro Cycling), and Emma White (Duanseburg, N.Y.; Rally UHC Pro Cycling) would stop the clock on their final ride at 4 minutes and 11.235 seconds, 1.894 seconds faster than Great Britain.

The women's team pursuit during their final round at the 2020 Track Cycling World Championships.

Having qualified first yesterday, the team pursuit squad began the evening session racing against New Zealand in the final heat of the Women’s Team Pursuit Semifinals. They stopped the clock at 4:11.634, 2.249 seconds ahead of the Kiwis.

“I’m proud of what this team accomplished tonight.”, said Gary Sutton, USA Cycling’s Head Coach, Women’s Track Endurance. “They pulled together and rode really well, like I knew they could. This is the starting point for Tokyo and our plan is to only go up from here.”

The team pursuit program has been solid all of the 2019-2020 UCI Track World Cup season, winning the first World Cup in Minsk, BLR, and the last World Cup in Milton, ONT, CAN as well as earning fourth at the World Cup in Brisbane, AUS.

Adrian Hegyvary (Asheville, N.C.; Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team) took to the track for the Men’s Scratch Race. He would start the race conserving energy and watching other riders make moves, and tested the waters himself to see other riders’ reactions. With one third of the race remaining Hegyvary made his move going off the front of the main field. He worked with a group of eight other riders to bridge across and take a lap with one lap remaining, ensuring him a top placing. Three of the riders from the break would drive right through the field, while Hegyvary, Matthew Walls of GBR, and Roy Effting of NED would decide places four through six by a bike throw.

Earlier in the day Madalyn Godby (Lousiville, Colo.) and Mandy Marquardt (Allentown, Penn.; Team Novo Nordisk) contested the Women’s Sprints. Godby would ride first in the seventh heat. She would stop the clock at 10.855 seconds, her best time at sea-level this season. Marquardt rode in the 21st heat, and finished in a time of 10.989 seconds. Ultimately Godby would qualify in 25th position and advance out to the first round of competition. She would ride against Laurin van Reissen of NED, who qualified eighth, in her first ride, and would ultimately be knocked out of competition.

Tomorrow Valente takes on her signature event with the Women’s Omnium, to see if she can replicate her success at the last World Cup and take home a rainbow jersey. Ashton Lambie (Lincoln, Neb.) races the Men’s Individual Pursuit, where he was the world recorder holder for over a year. Daniel Holloway (Boulder, Colo.; Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team) will take on the Men’s Points Race in the evening session.

How to follow along

Follow the excitement via @USACyclingLive on Twitter, and @USACycling on Instagram Stories and #Berlin2020 on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

For more about the 2020 UCI Track World Championships, please visit the event website at https://www.trackcycling-berlin.com/. The event schedule can be found here. Start lists and live timing can be found here.

All evening sessions will be livestreamed on NBC Sports as part of the Gold Package. Below is an approximate schedule of times and events in the broadcasts.

  • Fri. Feb. 28 12:30p ET – Women’s Omnium Events 3 & 4, Men’s Individual Pursuit finals, Men’s Points Race
  • Sat. Feb. 29 10:30am ET – Women’s Madison, Men’s Omnium Events 3 & 4, Women’s Individual Pursuit finals.
  • Sunday March 1 6:00am ET – Women’s Points Race, Women’s Keirin, Men’s Madison.

Visit USACycling.org for more information on the athletes, events and membership programs, and follow @USACycling across all channels for the latest on Team USA.