Ride Safe  Rules Of The Road 4
Team USA

USA Cycling Names 2019 Cyclocross World Championships Team- Elite

By: Kelly Fox  January 22, 2019

Six Female and Five Male Elite Riders will represent at the 2019 Cyclocross World Championships

(January 22, 2019) – USA Cycling announced today the athletes that will represent the United States in Elite Category at the 2019 UCI Cyclocross World Championships taking place in Bogense, Denmark February 2-3, 2019.

Among the competitors are 15-time National Champion Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo.; KFC Racing p/b Trek Knight), three-time National Champion Stephen Hyde (Easthampton, Mass.; Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld) as well as 2018 Pan American Champion Curtis White (Delanson, N.Y.; Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld).

“I’m happy and honored to be selected to the World’s team for 2019. Worlds is always a very special event, and I’m looking forward to representing the US and doing my best to ride fast and get a good result,” said Compton, who placed second at last year’s World Championships.

“Team USA will field a strong squad for both the men's and women's elite races. On the women's side, we have a range of experience levels from Samantha Runnels’ inaugural World Championship race, to American Cyclocross queen, Katie Compton. The potential for a podium in Bogense is very high, and the women's race will be hotly contested.

On the men's side, we've seen consistent progression from riders like Curtis White and Kerry Werner throughout the season. I expect some exceptional performances from this very motivated group,” said Jesse Anthony, USA Cycling’s Cyclocross Manager.

The Team USA roster is as follows:


Kaitie Keough (Colorado Springs, Colo.; Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld)

Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo.; KFC Racing p/b Trek and Knight Composites)

Ellen Noble (Kennebunkport, Maine; Trek Factory Racing CX)

Samantha Runnels (Austin, Tex.; Squid Squad)

Elle Anderson (Stowe, Vt.; Milwaukee – AlphaMotorhomes)

Rebecca Fahringer (Concord, N.H.; Kona Maxxis Shimano CX)


Curtis White (Delanson, N.Y.; Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld)

Kerry Werner (Birdsboro, Penn.; Kona Maxxis Shimano CX)

Stephen Hyde (Easthampton, Mass.; Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld)

Anthony Clark (Feeding Hills, Mass.; Squid Squad)

Cody Kaiser (El Dorado Hills, Calif.; LangeTwins/Specialized)

Note: Tobin Ortenblad and Jamey Driscoll both qualified but were unable to race due to injuries. Jack Kisseberth also qualified but declined his position.

All athletes participating in the 2019 Cyclocross World Championships qualified by meeting the criteria put forth by USA Cycling. The USA Cycling 2019 Cyclocross World Championships selection criteria is available here


The Junior and U23 Teams were announced earlier this month.

To cheer for Team USA at the 2018 World Championships, please follow @UCI_Cycling and @USACyclingLIVE on Twitter. For more about the 2018 UCI Cyclocross World Championships, please visit the event website at https://www.crossdenmark.dk/

Please contact Kelly Fox with questions at apalermo@usacycling.org