2019 Pan Am Champs Team Announcement
Team USA

USA Cycling Announces Final Team for the 2019 Pan-American Elite Track Championships

By: Kelly Fox  September 04, 2019

14 Americans are heading to Cochabomba, Bolivia to contest the 5-day event before the start of the UCI Track World Cup season.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Cycling today unveiled the final team to race at the 2019 Pan-American Elite Track Championships. The lineup of seven men and seven women will represent Team USA over the five-day event, running Sept. 4 – Sept 8, 2019 in Cochabomba, Bolivia.

“We know this track is capable of some very fast times and we expect to see some exciting performances from our team,” said Scott Schnitzspahn, USA Cycling Vice President of Elite Athletics. The objective at the Pan American Championships though is to win as many UCI and Olympic qualification points as possible to make sure we are set up well for entries to the World Cups and World Championships. Our team has prepared well and we are excited to get started with the competition.”

Riders on the final team were selected based on results at World Championships, the USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships, World Cup performances this season, and finishes at other UCI races. Among them are members of the 2019 Pan American Games Champions Jennifer Valente (San Diego, Calif.), Christina Birch (Los Angeles) and Lily Williams (Asheville, N.C.) for the women’s squad as well Individual Pursuit World Record Holder Ashton Lambie (Lincoln, Neb.) and Pan American Games Champions John Croom (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Adrian Hegevary (Ashville, N.C.), Daniel Holloway (Boulder, Colo.) and Gavin Hoover (Manhattan Beach, Calif.).

USA Cycling Final Team for the 2019 Pan-American Elite Track Championships:


John Croom (Colorado Springs, Colo.) Team Pursuit

Adrian Hegevary (Ashville, N.C.), Scratch, Team Pursuit

Dan Holloway (Boulder, Colo.), Points Race, Team Pursuit

Gavin Hoover (Manhattan Beach, Calif.), Omnium

Ashton Lambie (Lincoln, Neb.), Individual Pursuit, Team Pursuit

James Mellen (Schnecksville, Penn.) Sprints, Keirin

Eric Young (Geneva, Ill.), Team Pursuit


Christina Birch (Los Angeles), Individual Pursuit, Madison, Team Pursuit

Madalyn Godby (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Keirin, Sprints

Mandy Marquardt (Allentown, Pa.), Keirin, Sprints

Kendall Ryan (Ventura, Calif.), Madison, Team Pursuit

Jennifer Valente (San Diego, Calif.), Madison, Omnium, Scratch, Team Pursuit

Emma White (Delanson, N.Y.) Individual Pursuit, Team Pursuit

Lily Williams (Asheville, N.C.), Team Pursuit

*Note: Kimberly Geist (Allentown, Penn.) was also named to the team but declined her position

The USA Cycling selection criteria for the 2019 Pan-American Elite Track Championships is available here


The Pan American Championships are held annually for member nations of the Pan American Cycling Confederation. Riders competing in the Pan American Cycling Championships are selected by their respective national governing bodies and provide another avenue for athletes to qualify for World Championships.

Visit USACycling.org for more information on athletes, events and membership programs. Follow @USACycling across all channels for the latest on Team USA.