2022 BMX Racing Worlds Team Announcement
Team USA

USA Cycling Announces 2022 BMX Racing World Championship Team

By: Angelina Palermo  June 29, 2022

The 2022 UCI BMX Racing World Championships will take place in Nantes, France.

USA Cycling announced today the 22 athletes that will be representing the United States at the 2022 UCI BMX Racing World Championships in Nantes, France on July 30-31.

The star-studded roster includes Tokyo 2020 Olympians Corben Sharrah (Tucson, Ariz.; Daylight Cycle Co.), Payton Ridenour (Tulsa; OK.; Mongoose Bicycles), Felicia Stancil (Palm Harbor, FL.; Factory SSquared/Answer), and Alise Willoughby (Chula Vista, CA.; Team Toyota/ GW Bicycles).

Stancil is one to watch after landing on the Papendal World Cup Round 3 podium and a fourth place finish at the Olympic Games. 20-year-old Cameron Wood (Phoenix Ariz.; Mongoose/USA BMX Foundation) also had a strong start to the season scoring a silver medal at the fourth World Cup round in Papendal.

Last year at the World Championships, Stancil and Willoughby both made the Elite Women’s final along with Wood in the Elite Men’s race.

The new 2022 National Champions crowned in May will also be in attendance including Sharrah, Daleny Vaughn (Tucson, Ariz.; DK Bicycles), Jesse Welch (Riverside, Calif.; Box Components), McKenzie Gayheart (Fort White, Fla.; Factory Full Tilt/ Radio), Ethan Popovich (Valparaiso, Ind.; DK Bicycles), and Keiley Shea (La Habra, Calif.; 316 Racing).

Jamie Staff, Director of BMX, has been hard at work with the team this season. He said, “We are very excited to be able to get back to some normal racing this year and do what we love most. We are in an interesting phase where we’re introducing a lot of young riders to international events, as well as continuing to support our country’s more established riders. We’ve had some great prep camps this season with one more before we head to France and the riders got some great experiences in Europe at the first 4 World Cup rounds in May and June. Obviously, everyone wants results, and yes, I’m hoping we get some, but just as importantly, I’m looking to give our younger riders an experience of a lifetime, that will encourage them to continue to pursue their dreams of being an Elite athlete on the worlds stage. You can’t underestimate the value of international competition, especially at a young age, and so we look to continue to support the development of our next generation of riders the best way we can.”

The Team USA roster is as follows:

Elite Men

Anthony Bucardo (San Martin, Calif.; Haro Bikes)

Kamren Larsen (Bakersfield, Calif.; Haro Bikes)

Corben Sharrah (Tucson, Ariz.; Daylight Cycle Co.)

Jeremy Smith (Seminole, Fla.; DK Bicycles)

Cameron Wood (Phoenix Ariz.; Mongoose/USA BMX Foundation)

Elite Women

Lexis Colby (Surprise, Ariz.; Gordy’s Bicycles)

Payton Ridenour (Pottstown; Penn.; Mongoose Bicycles)

Felicia Stancil (Lake Villa, Ill.; Factory SSquared/Answer)

Daleny Vaughn (Tucson, Ariz.; DK Bicycles)

Alise Willoughby (Saint Cloud, Minn.; Team Toyota/ GW Bicycles)

U23 Men

Spencer Cole (Palm Harbor, Fla.; DK Bicycles)

Jesse Welch (Riverside, Calif.; Box Components)

Drew Polk (Avon, Ind.; Factory LSG)

U23 Women

McKenzie Gayheart (Fort White, Fla.; Factory Full Tilt/ Radio)

Junior Men

Nolan Cardwell (Belmont, N.C.; Tangent/ Rift/ Rockstar Racing Team)

Brody Cole (Spring, Tex.; 110% Nutrition)

Patrick O’Brien (Punta Gorda, Fla.; Albe’s Bike Shop)

Ethan Popovich (Valparaiso, Ind.; DK Bicycles)

Cutter Williams (Potomac Falls, Va.; Tangent/ Rift/ Rockstar Racing Team)

Junior Women

Manuela Rolden (West Palm Beach, Fla.; GW Bicycles)

Keiley Shea (La Habra, Calif.; 316 Racing)