WVR 8515
National Championships

Three National Champions Crowned on the Second Day of Amateur #RoadNats

By: Katherine Santos  June 30, 2022

Sprint finishes and solo breakaways made for an exciting day of racing.

Day two of the 2022 USA Cycling Amateur Road National Championships saw three groups take to the road race course in Troutville, Va. It was a cool and crisp 70 degrees as the first group of racers headed to the start line at 7:00am.

The Cat 1 Men were first on the course for their 187-kilometer race. Active from the start, riders from multiple teams were launching attacks early and often. After numerous attempted fliers, the race ended in a field sprint won by Ama Nsek (Ontario, Calif.; Best Buddies Racing). When asked about his tremendous sprint finish he said, "This is crazy, I didn't have any national championship wins before this year but I was California State champion. This season wasn't the best in terms of training, but luckily everything came together. The guys did a lot to put me in a good position." Nsek also won a Varsity collegiate title earlier this year.

Up next was the Under 23 Men’s race. The race was full of action with several riders repeatedly attacking. Lucas Stierwalt (Maineville, Ohio; DDP Elite Cycling Team) would eventually find himself solo off of the front, but the race would come together again until Cooper Johnson (Murfreesboro, Tenn.; Aevolo) would go off of the front and never look back. Johnson would beat second place by almost 4-minutes and go home with the stars and stripes jersey. This was the fourth consecutive year that Johnson's team, Aevolo, won the U23 Men's race.

In the evening race, the Junior Men 13-14 took to the 10.9-kilometer course. Enzo Hincapie (Greenville, S.C.; ONTO Racing p/b Hincapie) would be crowned national champion after a bunch sprint at the end.

Racing will continue tomorrow in Troutville, Va. for day 3 of the 2022 USA Cycling Amateur Road National Championships.


U23 Men

1. Cooper Johnson (Murfreesboro, Tenn.; Aevolo)

2. Lucas Bourgoyne (Houston; WB-FYBOLIA MORBIHAN)

3. Liam Flanagan (Black Mountain, N.C.; Kelly Benefit Strategies Elite Cycling Team)

Amateur Men

1. Ama Nsek (Ontario, Calif.; Best Buddies Racing)

2. Hugo Scala (Dallas; Project Echelon Racing)

3. Will Hardin (Winston Salem, N.C.; Project Echelon Racing)

13-14 Junior Men

1. Enzo Hincapie (Greenville, S.C.; ONTO Racing p/b Hincapie)

2. Gregory Debenedetti (Boise, Idaho; BYRDS)

3. Ethan Morris (Ashland, Va.; dcDevo Racing Academy)

A full list of results can be found here.

A full gallery of photos from the event can be found here.