2019 Master Track Day6
National Championships

Team Events conclude 2019 Masters Track Nationals

By: Tom Mahoney  September 02, 2019

The final 16 national titles were awarded at the VELO Sports Center in Carson, Calif. Performance Cycle Coaching garnered the Best All Around Team award.

Carson, Calif. – The final day of the 2019 USA Cycling Masters Track National Championships celebrated team racing, with 16 more national titles awarded out at the VELO Sports Center in Carson, Calif., on Sunday, September 1, 2019. After six days of racing, eight World Records were set and 104 national championships won, with riders from California taking home the most medals. The Best All Around Team award was Performance Cycle Coaching (CA).

In the final day’s races, Men’s Team Pursuit titles went to: Velo-T Rock in the 35+ group – Jordan Rapp, Heath Dotson, Gen Kogure and Michael Miller; in the 45+ race, the Timmer and Friends squad defended their title – David Klipper, Daniel Casper, Kevin Nicol and Dean Peterson; for the 55+ race, the World Champs won gold with Chris Carlson and Lawrence Nolan both back to defend their title from last year, now joined by Kevin Metcalfe, David Prechtl for the team victory; and Team L2S2 won the 65+ race to also defend their title – Shannon Fox, Leo Longo, Larry Wolff and Steven Worley.

In Women’s Team Pursuit racing, Stars and Stripes jerseys were awarded to: IAMICANWILLIDO for 35+ – Ruth Clemence, Sarah Munoz, Christine D’Ercole and Camie Kornely; and Pursuit of Happiness won for 45+ – Elise Traylor, Vikki Appel, Kimberly Pettit and Charlene Yarnall. Both gold medal squads saw riders retain national titles won a year ago.

The Women’s Team Sprint winners were: The Dawn of a New Kira for the 35+ group – Dawn Orwick and Kira Maximovich, who both also claimed individual gold medals during the week; the IAMICANIWILLIDO pair of Christine D’Ercole and Camie Kornely also won the 45+ Team Sprint; and the Lannette duo of Annette Williams and Lan Tran won for 55+.

In the Men’s Team Sprints, gold medals were won by: Back Straight Boyz in the 35+ group – Ethan Boyes, Kenneth Lo and Joshua McDonald; Garden City Cycling for 45+ – Bobby Walthour, Kirk Edwards and Dean Haraguchi; Medium Sausage Pizza for 55+ – Marvin Hall, Aron Seiken and Jay Wolkoff; and SoCalFST in the 65+ category – John Fitzgerald, Rick Skalak and Mike Tillman.

Making an exchange in the first ever Master Women's Madison.

The championships wrapped up with the Madison. The Men’s 35+ race was won by Andrew Baker and Kenneth Williams of JBMV. The Capo Cycling team of David Klipper and Daniel Casper captured a second team tile on the day with their win in the 45+ Madison. And, the Women’s 35+ Madison title went to Vikki Appel and Sara Mattes of the Happy Madison team.

Follow USA Cycling action throughout the year at @usacyclinglive on Twitter, as well as on Instagram at @usacycling, and stay connected by using the hashtag #TrackNats


Best All Around Rider/Team Standings


Day 1 Gallery

Day 2 Gallery

Day 3 Gallery

Day 4 Gallery

Day 5 Gallery

Day 6 Gallery

Event Webpage