Amateur Road Recap
National Championships

10 National Champions Crowned on First Day of Amateur Road

By: Kelly Fox  June 20, 2019

Garrison, Simmons and Ta-Perez claim victories

The 2019 USA Cycling Amateur Road National Championships kicked off today with the Individual Time Trial. Ten national champion titles were awarded over the course of the day in Boonsboro, Md. U23 & Amateur Men competed on a 30-kilometer course, while the Junior Men & Women 15-18 competed on a 20.6-kilometer course. The 14 and under juniors competed on a 10.9-kilometer course.

Starting off the morning, the U23 Men took to the course at 7:30 a.m. Ian Garrison (Decatur, Ga.; Hagens-Berman Axeon) clocked the fastest time of the day at 36:07.35. Last year’s champion, Gage Hecht (Parker, Colo.; Aevolo Cycling), placed second with a time of 37:59.24 and Connor Schunk (Charlotte, N.C.; Gateway Devo Cycling) rounded out the podium with a time of 38:11.12.

In the Amateur Men’s race Cory Lockwood (Tehachapi, Calif.; Legion of Los Angeles) took the win for the second year in a row with a time of 37:09.75. Brock Mason (Athens, Ga.; Storage Squad Racing p/b The Gear Attic) came in just nine seconds off Lockwood’s time clocking in at 37:18.95 while Timothy Mitchell (Ashland, Mass.; CCB Racing) followed 32 seconds later to place third.

In the Junior 17-18 Women’s race, Zoe Ta-Perez (Orange, Calif.; Lux Cycling) won over Megan Jastrab (Apple Valley, Calif.; Rally-UHC Cycling) by just over one minute with Katie Clouse (Park City, Utah; DNA Cycling) placing third. Ta-Perez, Jastrab and Clouse all spent time in Europe this spring as teammates on the USA Cycling National team which is currently sitting third in the Junior Nation’s Cup standings.

“I’ve had a lot going on this year with balancing school and a full schedule of racing,” said Ta-Perez, “It means a lot to win today because my team, coach and parents have put in so much time and effort to get me to where I am. I am beyond excited to be the Junior National Champion in the Time Trial in such a strong group of girls. My motivation is high and I can’t wait to get back to work for Yorkshire.”

Quinn Simmons (Durango, Colo.; Lux Cycling) took the gold for the Men’s 17-18 field over Matthew Riccitello (Tuscon, Ariz.; Lux Cycling) with Michael Garrison (Decatur, Ga.; Lux Cycling) rounding out the top three. Simmons, who has put in extra effort this year working on the Time Trial was pleased with his win.

“Time Trials aren’t my specialty so I’ve been working really hard on it,” said Simmons, “This is a validation of the work and a big step on the way to the World Championships. My biggest goal for the week is to defend my road title.”

The Women’s 15-16 category saw Olivia Cummins (Fort Collins, Colo.; GS Forza Cycling) cross the line with the fastest time of 31:21.98 on the 20.6 km course. She was followed by Cassidy Hickey (Parker, Colo.; Sho-Air TWENTY20 Devo) and Kaia Schmid (Marblehead, Mass.; New England Devo) taking silver and bronze. In the Men’s 15-16 category, Noah Ta-Perez (Orange, Calif.; Team Velosport) joined his sister, Zoe, on the podium collecting the Stars and Stripes jersey after clocking a time of 26:40.61, more than one minute ahead of second place finisher Artem Shmidt (Cumming, Ga.; Mission Devo Cycling). Jonah Vasquez (Piermont, N.Y.; HotTubes Development) rounded out the top three finishing 21 seconds back from Shmidt.

In the 13-14 category, Lilly McLeod (Brooksville, Fla.) took the gold in the women’s race with Katie Smock (Indianapolis, Ind.; Midwest Devo) and Clara James-Heer (Grand Rapids, Mich.; West Michigan Coast Riders/ Junior Cycle Sport) finishing second and third 15 and 27 seconds back respectively. In the men’s field, Brighton Johnson (Cave Creek, Ariz.) came out victorious with Levi Dykes (Tullahoma, Tenn; MOAB Racing) and Wesley Haggstrom (Clemmons, N.C. Velocious Sport) coming in second and third.

For our youngest group of athletes, Alexis Jaramillo (Colorado Springs, Colo.; Rage Cycling Team) won the Women’s 11-12 category clocking a time of 18:04.94 on the 10.9 kilometer course. Maya Brothers (Bala Cynwyd, Penn.; VeloDash) was 1:13 seconds behind her to take second and Alyssa Sarkisov (North Potomac, Md.; Rock Creek Velo) claimed third. Enzo Edmunds (Brooklyn, N.Y.) claimed the Men’s 11-12 title in a time of 16.42.85 while George Fraizier (Louisville, Ky.; 1 Eyed Cat Racing p/b Merlin Metalworks) and Rowan Child (Ashland, Mo.; Velo Childeric) placed second and third.

Tomorrow’s racing will be one of two road race days in Clear Springs Md. Taking the course tomorrow are the Amateur Cat 1 Men, U23 Men, and Junior 15-16 Men. To follow along with what is happening at the 2019 Amateur Road National Championships, follow us on @USACyclingLIVE on Twitter, @USACycling across all other platforms and the hashtag #RoadNats.

Visit for more information on the athletes, events and membership programs.

For more information, please contact Kelly Fox at