Day 7

21 Titles Awarded on the Last Day of #TrackNats

By: Katherine Santos  July 21, 2021

Racers Had One Last Day to Go for Gold at #TrackNats!

Today was the last day of the 2021 Junior, Elite, and Para Track National Championships. With sunny skies and a light breeze, riders took to the track ready and determined.

In the early morning session, several first-time national champions were crowned. In the Para B Men’s pursuit, Griffin Pinkow (Laguna Beach, Calif.) and pilot Charles Hursh (Laguna Beach, Calif.) took home the win. Pinkow had been looking forward to the pursuit and he knew going into it what he and Hursh needed to do.

“Being a national champion I don’t think has sunk in yet. I’m still trying to recover from the effort at the moment, but I’m sure it will hit me when I’m on the podium,” said Pinkow. These two riders led a perfectly executed race and will be going home with two gold medals because of it.

In the Para C4 Men’s pursuit, Jason Macom (Colorado Springs, Colo.; Paratech Cycling) won another gold medal. The Para events continued with Stephanie Zundel (Monument, Colo.)and pilot Heather Gray (Monument, Colo.) winning the Women’s Para B flying 200m. In the Men’s Para B flying 200m, Michael Stevenson (Colorado Springs, Colo.; Brihop) and pilot Joseph Christiansen (Colorado Springs, Colo.; Brihop) went out fast and furious. They took gold after finishing in a time of 10.410.

Racing continued with the Men’s 15-16 elimination race where Grayson Hauck (Allentown,Pa.; dcDevo Racing Academy) took home the win. As the day went on the air became stagnant and the heat started to become impactful. Riders were doing everything they could to stay cool especially since many of them had multiple races in the session.

The youngest racers took to the track at the hottest point of the day. In the Women’s 11-12 scratch race, Emy Solis (San Diego, Calif.; San Diego Velodrome) took gold. She would also go on to win the overall Omnium.

For the Men’s 11-12 scratch race, Kai Afan (Fresh Meadows, N.Y.; Star Track) would take the win after a sprint finish against Arjuna Burgos (Los Angeles, Calif.; Boost Cyclesport Junior Team). Afan ended up taking second in the overall Omnium with Burgos grabbing first.

Continuing the trend in the Women’s 13-14 scratch race, Emma Jimenez Palos (Novi, Mich.; American Cycling League Detroit) would take the win. These points would go on to then help her win the overall Omnium in her age category.

“It feels really great after going to road nationals and not doing very well since I crashed. This experience is very motivating,” said Emma after her well-deserved win.

A familiar name from road nationals, Enzo Edmonds (Brooklyn, N.Y.; Star Track) claimed even more titles this week, winning the Men’s 13-14 scratch race and the overall Omnium.

Reagen Pattishall (Breinigsville, Pa.; Edge Cycling) continued her reign of dominance and took the win in the Women’s 15-16 scratch and elimination race.

In the Men’s 15-16 scratch race Jonah Hover (Allentown, Pa.; Edge Cycling) had a solid performance and claimed another title. He then went on to win the overall Omnium in the Men’s 15-16 category.

Congratulations to everyone that competed this year!

You can find photo galleries from the event by clicking here.